Triple Review: Throne of Glass | Crown of Midnight | Heir of Fire |


Throne of Glass: 4/5 

 From the minute I was introduced to Cealaena Sardothein I liked her a lot. She is cunning and smart and lethal, but also very passionate. She loves her friends and fights  for who she really is.
I’ve wanted to start this series for a while, but I don’t think I would have done so if I didn’t just finish reading ACOMAF. Maybe I’m still recovering from that series, because there were times I kept waiting for Rhys to show up, lol. Overall I enjoyed this. I don’t think it’s one of my favorite books/series YET, but I’ll only know that if I continue on with it, which I will. I liked the characters. I think I was hoping for a bit of romance, but after reading something like ACOMAF and then reading a book about an assassin, I figured that wouldn’t be so. I am glad, however, that the romance was light in order to direct the focus on Cealena and her abilities and story rather than a partial romance with a Prince. I liked Cealena a lot. She’s a strong character.

Crown of Midnight: 4/5

Overall this was a strong second installment to the series, but there were times where the plot went in so many different directions I got a little lost. Each plot line was tied together at the end for the most part. The ending reveal though, although kind of obvious, it still made me smile. Cealena grows a lot in this one. I liked her romance with Chaol. When I found out about Dorian and his power, I have to say I was surprised considering his father’s kingdom hasn’t had magic for so long. I also found it to be a little expected.

Heir of Fire: This was more like a 3.5/5 for me.

I do like these characters. I like that Celaena is a strong, independent character. Ultimately, the more I read in this series the more I feel like I can’t connect with it. It is good, but I don’t think it’s drawing me in as much as I was hoping it to. I did begin this shortly after finishing ACOTAR/ACOMAF and I know these two series are very different. I don’t want to feel like I have to like this or continue with it because it’s a favorite among a lot of readers. But not every series is going to grab you and want you to say ” Just one more chapter!’ before drifting off to sleep. I like Sarah J Maas a lot as a writer, and my feelings about this series do not affect that in the least. In fact it makes me glad that I loved and connected with ACOTAR/ACOMAF like I did. The one part in this book in particular I didn’t fully understand were Manon’s chapters. I felt like she as just put into the series without being properly introduced. I spent every chapter of her’s wondering if/when she was going to meet Celaena. Maybe she will in the next book. I’m sure they will.

All in all I’m glad I gave this series a try. ‘Throne of Glass’ alone will be a favorite of mine, but as for this series as a whole, I couldn’t connect with it. I hope someone else will pick it up and love it and enjoy it where I could not.

Leave a Reply

