Bookish · Home · Reviews

Happy Halloween! Happy Thanksgiving! Merry Christmas! Happy Hanukkah! Happy Holidays! Happy New Year! Goodbye 2016!!!

 

georgiaokeefe_desktop
You can download this free desktop and phone wallpaper from Lily & Val Living by clicking on the picture!

I’m back!

I feel like I’ve said this multiple times in the past few months and with that, I am sorry.

The past few months have been sort of crazy. Not crazy busy per se, but I’m just going to come right out and tell you all that I’ve been in a blogging slump pretty much from mid-October through this current month of December. I just haven’t had the motivation to write. I feel horrible. I feel like not only have I semi-failed as a book blogger for you all (if you read this and if you do, thank you! If not, no worries!), but I’ve semi-failed myself. I’ve had a lot of up and down moments these past few months. Including quite a few book slumps and depressive episodes. That’s another reason I haven’t been writing and lacking the motivation to do so. Depression is a fickle friend.

So I’m going to go through each of these past couple of months and update you on everything that bookishly (I just made up a word, yes) happened. And instead of listing each of the books I read and a leaving a full review, I’m going to give a short and sweet rating from 1-5 stars and link it to my Goodreads page so you can view my ratings there and also see what other readers thought about it! I know, you deserve more than that. And I know I can BE more than that, but alas, here we are. 

October:

Remember when I did that Halloween/Spooky reading challenge and I promised to write reviews on each book I read? Yeah, I didn’t do that. I’m sorry, again. 

⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

⭐/5

⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

November:

Oh November, you bastard, you. (If you can’t tell I’m still very bitter about the election results) However, it was a pretty okay reading month for me, I must say! Needing  much cheering up, I decided to dive into some Christmas reading. 

⭐⭐⭐.5/5

⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

December:

December was pretty much all Christmas books again. I have to say, this year I put my cringe-worthy fear of Hallmark movies and cozy novels behind me and embraced it because dammit, did I need the cheer! I was still (yes, still) reeling from the election and I just didn’t quite feel the spirit as much as I usually do. 

To be honest this month I saw myself spending a lot of time comparing my life to my friend’s and acquaintance’s, especially when it comes to life and relationship stages (spoiler alert: I am very, very much behind). And although I am genuinely happy and excited for all of the new life/career/romantic/relationship endeavors and adventures for each and every one of my friends and peers, it’s still difficult to watch from the bleachers and sidelines as a single gal whose not quite in the same place. But I just need to remind myself that it’s okay, I’ll get there eventually. Right now it’s important to focus on my friends and celebrate their new adventures!  And even though I know I have time and it’s hard and depression sucks and life never goes as anyone plans it in their head, I don’t want to wallow. I want to focus on thanking God for everything he’s blessed my friends and I with this year. On the bright side, however, I did complete my 2016 Goodreads Challenge reading goal of 50 books!  Okay, enough blabbing. Onto the December book ratings!!!

⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

⭐⭐⭐/5

⭐⭐⭐.5/5

 

To wrap up, I hope you all had a wonderful bookish holiday season whichever holidays you celebrate and if you don’t celebrate any, I hope you had a bookish December and overall 2016! I hope 2017 is kinder to all of you. We lost quite a few legends this year, I’m starting to think this year was a crazy real-life version of ‘Final Destination’ in regards to celebrity deaths.  We need to protect Morgan Freeman, Betty White, Tom Hanks, Bill Murray and so many more legends with EVERYTHING WE HAVE!!! 

Lastly, I PROMISE to do better with this blog in 2017. I promise to read more. (My 2017 Goodreads Challenge is going to be 75!) 

On New Years Day or definitely sometime next week, I PROMISE, I will post my top 10 books of 2016, so look out for that!

Thank you for reading! Until next time! 

2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV)

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

desktop

4 thoughts on “Happy Halloween! Happy Thanksgiving! Merry Christmas! Happy Hanukkah! Happy Holidays! Happy New Year! Goodbye 2016!!!

  1. Awesome! Don’t feel guilty or ashamed for taking a time out when you need. Powerful women aren’t those who “do it all”; it’s those who know they can’t and are okay with it. I’d say you got some wisdom. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on completing your Goodreads reading goal! Thats really great and I hope you’re able to reach it again next year! On another note though, don’t feel bad about not posting and taking time for yourself, everyone needs a break and even though I just followed you I look forward to reading your reviews whenever you post. Post as frequently or infrequently as you like, as long as you’re happy thats all that really matters. I hope 2017 is a good year for you, both personally and bookishly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

